Race Results
March 22, 2014


"Eckert Two for Two in 2014, Scores in Winchester Season-Opener"
"McClellan Tops Strong Crate Late Model Field"
By Doug Watson
                    Winchester, VA-  "All the guy's back there do all the work, I just get the fun part of driving it." Were the words from York Pa.'s Rick Eckert as he stood in the Winchester Speedway victory lane last Saturday night. Eckert authored a dominating performance to collect his 12th career Winchester Late Model feature win in last Saturday nights "Chiller Thriller" that netted the former WoO series champion a cool $2500. The win for Eckert, aboard his Paul Crowl owned Rocket no.7, was his second win in as many weeks as he steered Crowl's machine to the win in Hagerstown's opener the week prior.
                   JT Spence and Rick Eckert shared the front-row for the start of the event with Eckert surging into the race lead as the field roared into turn-one. From that point on, it would be a race for second, as Eckert would eventually lead all 35-circuits to post the win. As Eckert lead JT Spence and Gregg Satterlee waged their own battle for second with Spence prevailing at the finish. "This racetrack was in great shape tonight." Eckert stated during his post-race interview. "Hats off to Mr. Gunter and the track prep crew, they gave us a great track to race on tonight." Tire choice, which is always critical in Late Model races these day, didn't seem to worry Eckert. "I think everyone had the same tire on tonight." Said Eckert. "I know JT (Spence) had the same tire on that we did, but we were just able to get to the front first, and I think that made the difference tonight." Satterlee held on for third, Greg Roberson was fourth with Kenny Pettyjohn rounding out the top-five. Heats went to Spence and Eckert.
                Stoystown Pa.'s Chad McClellan drove to his first-career Winchester feature win in the 20-lap Crate Late Model feature. McClellan drove from his ninth-starting spot to grab the race lead from Ryan Montgomery mid-way through the event and would lead the distance to score the win. "This is a great way to start the season." McClellan stated. "I didn't think we had a car to win tonight, but we kept plugging away at the top, and we were able to pass Ryan (Montgomery) for the win." Montgomery held on for second, Ralph Morgan was third, John Imler took fourth with 14th starting John Over rounding out the top-five. Heats were won by Montgomery, Imler and George Kowatic.
               Former track champion Mike Franklin wired the field to win the 15-lap Pure Stock main. Franklin started on the pole and would lead every lap to secure the win. Buddy Wilson was second, Eric Johnson took third, Josh Wilkins was fourth with Keith Koontz filling the front five.
               Defending track champion Ed Gageby took top-honors in the 15-lap Four-Cylinder feature. Gageby, who started on the pole, would post the win over Roger Whitlock, Cody Kershner, Lester Riley and Allen Whitt Jr.  
              Michael Pfaff snared the race lead from Jason Wilkins mid-way through the 15-lap U-Car feature to post his second-career feature win at Winchester. Wilkins held on for second, Robert Wilson was third, Jacob Lewis collected fourth with Steve Fadeley completing the top-five.
             In the nightcap 15-lap Enduro stock feature Dustin Proctor prevailed for the win. Proctor blasted into the race lead on lap-one and would lead to the checkers over "Krazy" Kenny Thomas, Dylan Rutheford, Ray Priest and Brian Wallace.
Late Model feature finish
1. Rick Eckert  2. JT Spence  3. Gregg Satterlee  4. Greg Roberson  5. Kenny Pettyjohn  6. Dale Hollidge  7. Tony Crim  8. Brad Omps  9. Ross Robinson  10. Billy Beachler  11. Tom Decker Jr.  12. Jimmy Richards  13. Jacob Burdette  14. Tom Decker III
Crate Late Model feature finish
1. Chad McClellan  2. Ryan Montgomery  3. Ralph Morgan Jr.  4. John Imler  5. John Over  6. Michael Lake  7. Rob Nichols  8. Scott Merryman  9. Ben Bowie  10. Timmy Booth  11. Jennae Piper  12. Dylan Lewis  13. David Renaldi  14. Austin Stover  15. Kevin Palmer  16. Sam Archer  17. George Kowatic  18. Brian Lederhouse  19. Transton Stoner  20. Darren Henderson  21. Travis Carroll  22. Reese Masiello  23. Matt Gladden  24. Scott Tessman (DNS) 25. Scott Sweeney (DNS)
Pure Stock feature finish
1. Mike Franklin  2. Buddy Wilson  3. Eric Johnson  4. Josh Wilkins  5. Keith Koontz  6. Craig Parrill  7. Sean Dawson  8. Wes Branner  9. Jeffrey Budwash  10. Terry Staton  11. Reese Alley  12. Michael Carter  13. Randy Adkins
Four-Cylinder feature finish
1. Ed Gageby  2. Roger Whitlock  3. Cody Kershner  4. Lester Riley  5. Allen Whitt Jr.  6. Jesse Boyce  7. Melvin Ours  8. William Riley  9. Ethan Ours  10. Justin Hottle  11. Richard Gwizdale
U-Car feature finish
1. Michael Pfaff  2. Jason Wilkins  3. Robert Wilson  4. Jacob Lewis  5. Steve Fadeley  6. Terry Leach  7. Gene Wilson  8. Jeff Wilkins  9. Billy Smith  10. Alan Dice  11. Randy Wilkins  12. Travis Clark  13. Taylor Holden  14. Austin Nichols  15. Theo Funk  16. Jacob Whitt
Enduro Stock feature finish
1. Dustin Proctor  2. "Krazy" Kenny Thomas  3. Dylan Rutheford  4. Ray Priest  5. Brian Wallace  6. Paul Jones  7. Bill Hargett  8. Gary Moreland Jr.  9. Mark Vegh  10. Dalton Dillman