Race Results
June 8, 2013


“Spence a Three-Timer With Saturday Winchester Score”
“Stickley Scores Career-First in Limited Late Models”
By Doug Watson
Winchester, VA- Winchester Va.’s JT Spence drove a brand-new race car to his third feature win of the season last Saturday night at Winchester speedway.
Keith Jackson and fellow front-row starter JT Spence brought the field down for the start of the 30-lap main event. Jackson got the jump at the start as the pack raced into turn-one. As the field set sail down the backstretch, Spence got a run on Jackson to take the top-spot as they raced into turn-three. From that point on it would be a race for second as Spence was clearly the class of the field and would lead all 30-circuits to take the $2000 win by a wide margin over eventual runner-up Keith Jackson.
“This is a brand-new beast” Spence stated in Winchester’s victory lane. “These guys worked their tails off getting this thing ready and I’m glad to be able to get a win for them the first time out with it.” Superb track conditions aided in Spence’s winning run. “Hats off to Mr. Gunter for such a great track tonight.” Said Spence. “Keith (Jackson) got the jump on us there at the start, but those limited cars got the top real good and as smooth as the track was we were able to get back by and get the win.” CS Fitzgerald was third, tenth-starting Trever Feathers took fourth with Brad Omps rounding out the top-five. Heats for the 18 cars on hand went to Spence and Jackson.
Travis Stickley scored his first-career Winchester feature win with his victory in the 20-lap Limited Late Model headliner. Bruce Kane lead the first 12-laps of the event before Stickley found the top-side of the speedway to his liking to take the race-lead on lap-13. As Stickley lead, a lap-17 caution gave the field one last shot at the leader, but Stickley was not to be denied as he would hold off a late race rush by Rodney Walls to score the break-through win. Kane, in his first start of the season, held on for third, defending track champion Brad Ritter was fourth with twelfth-starting Jonathon DeHaven completing the top-five. Heats for the 21 cars entered went to Ritter and Stickley.
In the 25-lap Leo Nichols Memorial for the Pure Stocks, Mike Corbin drove a flawless race to collect his fourth feature win of the season. Corbin, who started on the outside of the front-row, darted into the race lead at the drop of the green and would lead the distance to score the $1000 win. Defending track champion Mike Franklin reached second by lap-14 and would hound Corbin to the checker, but would have to settle for runner-up money. Point leader David Kaiser was third, Brian Luttrell took fourth with Buddy Wilson rounding out the top-five. Heats for the 19 cars went to Corbin and Luttrell.
Defending track champion Kevin Oates was victorious for the first time this season in the 15-lap U-Car feature. Oates zipped into the race lead on lap-1 and would survive a late-race flurry from Jason Wilkins to score the win. Allen Jones was third, Michael Pfaff took fourth with Mark Pollard rounding out the top-five. Heats for the 25 cars went to Oates, Allen Jones and Bobby Perry.
In the nightcap 15-lap Four-Cylinder main it was Roger Whitlock scoring his first win of the season. Whitlock, Justin Hottle and Ed Gageby battled furiously the entire distance with Whitlock squeaking out the win by a fender as they crossed under the start/finish line. Gageby held on for second, Hottle was third, Billy Sonner was fourth with Darren Pingley filling the front five. Gageby was the heat winner.
Late Model feature finish
1. JT Spence 2. Keith Jackson 3. CS Fitzgerald 4. Trever Feathers 5. Brad Omps 6. Jason Miller 7. Glenn Elliott 8. Tommy Armel 9. Pancho Lawler 10. Amanda Whaley 11. Travis Roach 12. Don Woodruff 13. Tony Crim 14. Greg Elrod (DNS) 15. Kyle Hardy (DNS) 16. Roy Deese Jr. (DNS) 17. Lindsay Barton (DNS) 18. Rusty Sites (DNS)
Limited Late Model feature finish
1. Travis Stickley 2. Rodney Walls 3. Bruce Kane 4. Brad Ritter 5. Jonathon DeHaven 6. Bubby Tharp Jr. 7. James Myers 8. Kris Eaton 9. Keith Walls 10. Kris Holliday 11. Mike Bennett 12. Mitch Miller 13. Michael Alderman 14. Jacob Burdette 15. Kevin Deremer 16. Robbie Emory 17. Richard Hawkins 18. Jimmy Richards 19. Ernie Shirley 20. James Carte 21. Walter Crouch
Pure Stock feature finish
1. Mike Corbin 2. Mike Franklin 3. David Kaiser 4. Brian Luttrell 5. Buddy Wilson 6. Stephen Quade 7. Craig Parrill 8. Terry Staton 9. Bob Gladden 10. Ben Bowie 11. Mike Grady Jr. 12. Dickie Tharp 13. Bill Pifer 14. Keith Koontz 15. Jonathon Oliver 16. Josh Wilkins 17. Reese Alley 18. Chuck Bowie 19. Eric Johnson (DNS)
U-Car feature finish
1. Kevin Oates 2. Jason Wilkins 3. Allen Jones 4. Michael Pfaff 5. Mark Pollard 6. Alan Dice 7. Brenda Alexander 8. Justin Katz 9. Jeff Wilkins 10. Larry Lamb 11. Steve Fadeley 12. Theo Funk 13. Randy Wilkins 14. Ronnie Bolstridge 15. Terry Leach 16. Dwayne Pierson 17. Mickey Payne 18. Gene Wilson 19. Jacob Lewis 20. Austin Nichols 21. Bobby Perry 22. Josh Walker 23. Ricky Runion 24. Steve Katz 25. Kevin Pollard (DNS)
Four-Cylinder feature finish
1. Roger Whitlock 2. Ed Gageby 3. Justin Hottle 4. Billy Sonner 5. Darren Pingley 6. Rich Newcomer 7. Jesse Boyce 8. Ethan Ours




3-29 4-6 4-13
4-20 4-26 5-4
5-10 5-18 5-25